Ri sales tax online

There are three components that determine how much each individual car is taxed: valuation, tax rate and exemption. There is no county sale tax for Rhode Island. Contact Us. Definitions Rule 6. Sales Tax Web File. Set up your processes to collect sales tax from your customers. The state general sales tax rate of Rhode Island is 7%. . All forms supplied by the Division of Taxation are in Adobe Acrobat (PDF) format; To have forms mailed to you, please call (401) 574-8970 ; Items listed below can be sorted by clicking on the appropriate column heading; Some sales and use tax forms now contain a 1D barcode. Amazon does not charge sales tax on behalf of RI because they have no physical location there. Want to  Both the state income and sales tax are near the national average. 000%. The sales tax rate is 6%. Sales taxes. S. We also process Municipal Lien Certificates and sell town beach passes seasonally (May - September) for more information on Beach Passes, Click Here. The state does tax . The Motor Vehicle Tax (commonly known as the “Car Tax”) is a property tax collected by each Rhode Island municipality based on the value of each motor vehicle owned. Welcome to our reviews of the Rhode Island Sales Tax Online (also known as WWII Russian Soldier Picture). com The Rhode Island state tax administrator, following the recommendation of an administrative law judge, has rejected the imposition of sales tax on an out-of-state horse care and riding supplies Rhode Island Sales Tax Online. present in the state. 5 percent. Mar 31, 2019 Amado and his family frequently shop online, so he was disappointed to learn they would soon be paying Rhode Island's 7 percent sales tax on  Jan 20, 2017 Gov. Box 981027. In its decision in South Dakota v. Zero tax returns can be filed in Revenue Online . Sales tax is governed at the individual state level, so tax rules and regulations are slightly different from state to state. The consumer is essentially liable for the same % of tax but will need to pay it directly to the state. Fast and easy 2019 sales tax tool for businesses and people from Rhode Island, United States. The following describes   Rhode Island State Tax Refund Status Information. Follow @SaleTaxCom. North Kingstown is in the following zip codes: 02852, 02854. 3. Annual Retail Sales Permits ($10) may be purchased online at If an Artist lives and works inside RI and does not have a RI Sales Tax Permit or an Exemption,  Oct 17, 2016 Taxpayers can now pay their Rhode Island personal income tax credit online via, https://www. This means sellers must know the exact current sales tax rate for every shipment they send to a purchaser. 7. LOG IN TO WEB FILE; CREATE ACCOUNT In that case, the tax generally is called use tax rather than sales tax – and customers often simply did not pay use tax to the state. Tax Sale Pre-Registration Form . Resources . Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property. To find out when the next tax sale will be held, please contact our tax collection office. Division of Motor Vehicles 600 New London Avenue Cranston, RI 02920-3024 Phone: (401) 462-4368 Contact Us Customer Service Agreement DMV Feedback Form Access to Public Records APRA Request Forms APRA Regulation Related Sites Department of Revenue DMV Online Services Office of the Governor Rules and Regulations SOS Open Meetings Translation Tool Internet Sales Tax: A 50-State Guide to State Laws. Log in using your New Jersey tax identification number* and business name. I. North In fact, because federal law now permits Rhode Island to require companies to collect a sales tax on goods sold on the internet, current state law indicates that the sales tax should be lowered to 6. If your business sells products on the internet, such as eBay, or through a storefront, and the item is shipped within the same state, sales tax must be collected from the buyer and the sales tax must be paid on the collected tax to the state. The customer’s state charges sales tax on repair services, so the provider of the service should charge that state’s tax rate. Raimondo’s $9. Authority Rule 3. Rhode Island Consumer's Use Tax Return T-205 Step 9: If submitting payment late, calculate the interest due on line nine and the penalty due on line 10. Select the ≡ Services menu in the upper left-hand corner of your Account Summary homepage. Municipal governments in Rhode Island are also allowed to collect a local-option sales tax that ranges from 0. You can renew online at Rhode Island Business Tax Filings. File Sales And Use Tax Returns: Print and Mail Sales and Use Tax Form 202 : File Withholding Returns ( MW506 ) File Withholding Reconciliation ( MW508 and W-2 Forms ) W2 Bulk Upload Application ( Test and bulk upload your file or view your submission history. This costs $10. Word to  City of Warwick - Tax P. 00%. 00 in connection with any return, report, or other document pertaining to sales tax or use tax required to be filed with the Department even if some payments for those tax types subsequently fall below $500. Town of North Smithfield Tax Collector 575 Smithfield Rd. The recent Supreme Court decision in South Dakota v. ) The Motor Vehicle Tax (commonly known as the “Car Tax”) is a property tax collected by each Rhode Island municipality based on the value of each motor vehicle owned. Online Services Sub Title or Important Tag Line for the Page body content body content body content body content body content body content body content body content body content body content body content body content body content body content body content body content& The following sales and use tax returns can be filed on WYIFS: Form Type 41-1 Sales and Use Tax Return for Licensed Vendors (Monthly and Quarterly) 42-1 Sales and Use Tax Return for Annual Filers 43-1 Sales and Use Tax Return for Occasional Vendors 44 Business Consumer Use Tax 45-1 Contractor Use Tax Return. The Rhode Island Division of Taxation has begun mailing out approximately 21,500 sales tax permits to retailers. 00% to 0. Tobacco tax permit; Other services (not in TAP): Individual income tax e-file (free, if you qualify) Business income tax e-file (File online through participating providers. For online  Collection box by entry way available for use anytime for Tax Payments or official Town Business We accept Credit Card payments on site as well as online. Log in to your Business Online Services account or create one. Click the tabs below to explore! cranston, rhode island, ri. For tax preparers, CPAs and filing practitioners who manage multiple business accounts for multiple clients. Rhode Island considers shipping charges a part of the sale price of the item, so if the item is taxable so is shipping. About Rhode Island’s Online Sales Tax Law Non-collecting retailers making in excess of $100,000 in sales or more than 200 sales (number of transactions) within the immediately preceding calendar year, are responsible for registering, collecting and remitting sales tax, or must do all of the following: If you made any purchases online or outside of Rhode Island for which you paid less then Rhode Island's 7% in sales tax, you are responsible for paying Rhode Island a use tax on those purchases equal to 7% of the total purchase price less any sales taxes already paid to other jurisductions. Coventry, RI 02816 Monday – Friday. 2018 rates included for use while preparing your income tax deduction. Wholesale companies in Rhode Island require a sales tax resale certificate. Access this secure website to find out if the Division of Taxation received your return and whether your refund . Dealer: Sales tax is 7% of the purchase price Private Party: Sales tax is 7% of Nada Clean Retail book value or CPI Book value or purchase price, whichever is greater. , North Smithfield, RI 02896 Phone: (401) 767-2200, ext. Also similar to online purchases, a large retailer is more likely to charge sales tax on shipped items than a small boutique. at the Collections Office at 137 Roosevelt Ave, Pawtucket RI 02860. 00%, which has been in place since 1947. Businesses that have made payments totaling $50,000 or more during the most recent fiscal year may be required to file and pay their West Virginia taxes electronically. There is no city sale tax for the Rhode Island cities. Send reports to your state and, of course, Pay sales taxes to your state as required. About Assessor and Property Tax Records in Rhode Island Rhode Island real and personal property tax records are managed by the Assessment Office in each township. Purpose Rule 2. North Kingstown, RI Sales Tax Rate. Properties on Tax Sale List (as of 5/9/2018) Registered Bidders RI Housing - 10 Day List (Revised) 2018 Tax Sale List (as listed in Projo on 4/19/18) Properties Redeemed for the 5/25/2017 Tax Sale. 1670 Flat River Road. The City Collector's Office sends out annual bills in June and processes quarterly payments for Real Estate, Personal Property/Tangible, and Motor Vehicle  View, Print or Pay your Tax Bill online on the North Providence RI Tax Database at www. The seller must collect and remit sales tax for the state in which the product they sold is sourced. Set up your channels to collect the correct amount of sales tax from buyers. Annual Tax Sale The Town of Bristol holds tax sales annually. First some background in sales tax, then a discussion of the current situation for online sales tax. How does Rhode Island rank? Below, we have highlighted a number of tax rates, ranks, and measures detailing Rhode Island’s income tax, business tax, sales tax, and property tax systems. O. A handful of states are fairly simple. Ecommerce tax refers to the sales tax associated with an online sale. LOG IN TO WEB FILE; CREATE ACCOUNT Depending on the type of business and the amount of revenue, the state sales tax collected must be paid either monthly or quarterly. File the Rhode Island Sales Tax Return You will do this with the RI Business Tax Filings page through the Rhode Island Department of Revenue. riegov. Vermont Use Tax is imposed on the buyer at the same rate as the sales tax. Severability Rule 5. Sales and Use Tax Online Filing and Payments. Check out our top 10 list below and follow our links to read our full in-depth review of each online dating site, alongside which you'll find costs and features lists, user reviews and videos to help you make the right choice. Sellers registered through the Streamlined Sales Tax Registration System (SSTRS) are required to collect sales tax in all Streamlined Full Member States. Gather your records for all your sales and the taxes through your business accounting system. Create a Tax Preparer Account We cover more than 300 local jurisdictions across Alabama, California, Colorado, Kansas, Louisiana, and Texas. The bill's sponsor, Rep. Rhode Island joined a national coalition of states in conforming the Rhode Island sales and use tax law to the provisions of the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement, or SSUTA. You are required to file and pay electronically if you owe more than $500. m. Tax Collector's Office Town Hall. Taxes in Rhode Island are destination-based, meaning the Rhode Island sales tax rate is based, or determined from, the destination location an item is shipped to. CHAPTER 44-18 Sales and Use Taxes – Liability and Computation ; CHAPTER 44-18. Wayfair has made the out-of-state vendor provisions of Act 134 of 2016 effective. They have one statewide sales tax rate, which generally ranges from 4-7% — meaning you only need to charge that single rate when you have nexus. For more information, please use the following link: RI Div. Rhode Island cities and/or municipalities don't have a city sales tax. Dan Kidney ; Alicia Miller Buchel ; 10/13/2017 This article was originally published on September 1, 2017. Seller's Tax Liability. ) Bill Pay ( make payments on existing business tax liabilities ) Power of Attorney and Sales or Use Tax Exemption Certificate (Form T-333-1), if the vehicle is leased. For example, Zales Jewelers has stores in every state in the country and will charge applicable sales taxes on all shipments, with the exception of the five states that don't have a sales tax. 3B budget targets online sales to spend on schools; Q&A: Ted Nesi previews Gov. The age of the vehicle alone does not determine the value of the vehicle. Of course there will be, as always, criminals that evade Rhode Island Enacts Economic Nexus and Reporting Requirements Provisions. If you only sell via Shopify and are on the Professional or Unlimited plan, this can be fairly simple to determine by running a sales tax report on your store’s Reports tab. For example, a customer ships a laptop to another state for repair. Raimondo wants online retailers to collect the 7% sales tax on good sold to Rhode Islanders. Call the Division of Taxation at 609-292-6400 if you need help or have questions. The mission of the Department of Revenue is to administer its programs, and consistently execute the laws and regulations with integrity and accountability, thereby instilling public confidence in the work performed by the department. 2 Sales and Use Tax – Non-Collecting Retailers, Referrers, and Retail Sale Facilitators Act ; CHAPTER 44-19 Sales and Use Taxes – Enforcement and Collection The tax would result in about $35 million in revenue for the state in fiscal year 2017-18, which begins July 1. This is called a "zero" return. Utility Payments City of Warwick - Utility P. There is no sales tax on the boarding of animals at kennels and the boarding of animals at veterinary  Mar 27, 2019 PROVIDENCE, R. If the provider is not registered to collect sales tax, the state can require the customer to pay use tax. The Tax Collector's Office collects Real Estate Tax, Personal Property Tax, Motor Vehicle Tax, Water and Sewer payments. Welcome to the Town of Westerly's Tax Collection webpage. Boston, MA 02298-1076. L. The U. 00% when combined with the state sales tax). State of Rhode Island - Division of Taxation Hotels and Other Accommodations Sales and Use Tax & Hotel Tax Regulation SU 16-97 Rule 1. How 2019 Sales taxes are calculated in Rhode Island. Rhode Island State Sales Tax Online Registration Sales Tax Application Organization Any business that sells goods or taxable services within the state of Rhode Island to customers located in Rhode Island is required to collect sales tax from that buyer. RI House, Senate Approve Online Sales Tax Bill - Cranston, RI - The bill would allow the state to collect sales tax from online retailers, which lawmakers say will even the playing field for Sales Tax Resale Certificate Example: If you go to a wholesaler and buy a computer you plan to sell [like eBay], you may purchase the item without paying state sales tax. (401) 738-2900 info@fradincpa. You might be selling online, at a retail store, or at outside venues like flea markets and events. Vermont Sales Tax is charged on the retail sales of tangible personal property unless exempted by law. Don't have an RI ID number? Business application and registration  The fast and easy way to file your RI business taxes online! Make Corporate, Personal Income Tax, Sales and Use and Withholding Tax Payments using a  Click here for Form T-205 to pay the sales and use tax due or and file your federal and Rhode Island resident personal income tax returns online at no charge. You can find all the information and resources you will need to electronically file and pay your taxes on the Payment Options for Businesses page on this website. 1 Adoption of the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement ; CHAPTER 44-18. Brian Kennedy, a Hopkinton Democrat, says General Information on Sales Tax. This ruling overturns the Court’s 1992 decision in Quill Corporation v. Sales Tax Resale Certificate Example: If you live in Rhode Island and you sell or ship something to someone else in Rhode Island, then you must collect and pay sales tax to the State of Rhode Island. 25 States Participating in Sales and Income Tax Amnesty Program for Online Sellers. One table is mainly for taxicabs . However, if you sell the same item to someone outside the State of Rhode Island, you will not need to charge sales tax, but must report the exempt tax sale to the State of Rhode Confused about online sales taxes? You're not alone Are you doing some shopping online this holiday season and wondering why you're getting charged sales tax and your sister in another state isn't? Is Shipping Taxable in Rhode Island? Here is what the State of Rhode Island Division of Taxation says: You will most likely need to charge sales tax on shipping charges in Rhode Island. With sales tax rates approaching 10% in some jurisdictions that combine state and local sales taxes, it is an important exemption not to overlook. You must renew your Rhode Island sales tax permit annually. Online Bill Pay The City of Cranston Tax Collector's Office has implemented a new online payment and electronic billing service that will offer greater flexibility when paying your tax bills, including paperless billing. If you have any problems with the online registration process, you can call the RI Division of Taxation Registration Section at 401-574-8829. For the states that tax digital products, the tax rate varies from 1% to 7%, depending upon the state and the type of digital good. Any vehicles on CPI list on private sale will be based on Book Value or Purchase Price, whichever is higher. The leasing company must be listed as the purchaser. , the Court effectively stated that individual states can require online sellers to collect state sales tax on their sales. All original and limited edition works of art sold in the State of Rhode Island is exempt from state sales tax, starting December 1, 2013. Vehicles 30 Years and Older. 8:30am – 4:30pm Phone: (401) 822-9167 Fax: (401) 822-6237 Since 2011 All owners of vehicles valued at $500. In addition, the Division has posted Rhode Island Schedule 965 (“965 Transition Tax Statement”) and a related Advisory. Supreme Court today handed down its anticipated decision in South Dakota v. Application Rule 4. Wayfair Inc. Generally, over the last decade, the sales tax has gradually been broadened to cover more goods and services. First time user? Sign up here to create your Rhode Island business tax EFT filing account. Get your maximum refund when you file your taxes online. Free guide to file an LLC in Rhode Island in 7 days yourself, OR we can You can file the document online, by mail or in person. You will need your account number and PIN # from your  Jun 22, 2018 this time whether 16 states that have enacted online sales tax laws will be At least seven states—Pennsylvania, Washington, Rhode Island,  Free online 2019 US sales tax calculator for Rhode Island. Wayfair. Rhode Island Sales & Use Tax Application Registration - ONLINE [ for obtaining a sales tax number, recommended method] To complete your request for a Rhode Island Sales Tax Resale Certificate Number online through the internet, you may view and complete the document form by clicking the link below. 00. Sales Tax on Hotels and Other Accommodations (Other Than Residential Dwellings) Rule 7. North Kingstown, RI is in Washington County. Business owners may complete a Rhode Island sales tax filing form and mail it to the Rhode Island Division of Taxation or they can file electronically online. Are services subject to sales tax in Rhode Island? In general, services in Rhode Island are not taxable unless you are a plumber or writer. Pre-qualification of bidders, pursuant to R. Sales tax payment coupon booklets will go out next month. At the time of purchase, notify in-state customers that sales or use tax is due on taxable purchases made from the non-collecting retailer and that Rhode Island requires the in-state customer to file a sales or use tax return; Within 48 hours of the time of purchase, Whether it's Black Friday or Cyber Monday, or the day after Christmas, or any day, if you sell online business, you have to deal with sales taxes. Our Mission and Vision. , you are only required to collect sales tax in states where you have “sales tax nexus”. How to get a Rhode Island Retail Sales Permit: Renewals can also be completed online through a different interface, the Retail Sales Permit Renewal System. The burden to pay this tax to the state (in the form of use tax) shifts to the consumer. The current total local sales tax rate in North Kingstown, RI is 7. FILE OR PAY USING MYVTAX . Certain out-of-state vendors are now required to register with the State of Vermont and collect and remit sales tax beginning July 1, 2018. It has been updated to reflect the new disclosure deadline and the addition of a new state to the initiative. of Taxation on Sales Tax Permits Back to News MASSACHUSETTS SALES TAX LLC Permits Tax IDsHome Based Online Business Home Based Online Business in North Providence, Providence County, RI. Hull said the online sales tax is expected to generate even more revenue in future The latest sales tax rate for North Kingstown, RI. State sales tax is a flat 7% across the state—cities and counties don't tack on any additional sales tax. Rhode Island does not allow cities or counties to enact their own sales taxes, and the state sales tax applies to all sales within state jurisdiction with several exemptions. Sales tax is 7% of the purchase price. SAME: Rhode Island is a Streamlined Sales Tax (SST) state. If you sell less than $4 million in annual sales, you do not have to collect or pay sales tax on out-of-state sales. 00 or more will receive a tax bill. Box 981076. Items shipped out of state are usually not subject to state sales tax if annual revenues are less than four million dollars. You can look into online tax software to help you with filing taxes. File or pay your meals and rooms, sales and use, withholding, and local option taxes online with myVTax. Select Sales tax - file and pay, then select Sales tax web file from the expanded menu. 00% across the state, with an average local tax of N/A (for a total of 7. Goods in a warehouse, sample room, storage room, etc. At issue is the case Quill Corp. Sign Up for Premier Business Services (PBS). The first step towards understanding Rhode Island’s tax code is knowing the basics. 327 Fax: (401) 767-2840 or (401)356-4057. Sales tax is a “consumption tax,” meaning that consumers only pay sales tax on taxable that items they buy at retail. Of course there will be, as always, criminals that evade How To Add Sales Tax On A Calculator - The #1 best-selling tax preparation software to file taxes online. The Rhode Island Division of Taxation has filed, as final, a regulation that provides guidance to C corporations and their advisors on how to report Section 965 income for Rhode Island tax purposes. com. Virtually every type of business must obtain a State Sales Tax Number. Subtract any sales or use tax already paid in other states. Register for a sales tax permit in each state where you have nexus. After obtaining a Rhode Island car registration certificate, Vermont Sales Tax is charged on the retail sales of tangible personal property unless exempted by law. 02911. Items shipped within state are taxable. To be sales tax compliant as an online seller you must: Determine where you have sales tax nexus. com Client Portal Online Payroll New sales tax tables now online The Tax Division today posted new sales tax rate tables - just in time for the tax changes that take effect on Monday. This complicates business for retailers who need to have the exact and up-to-date sales tax rate for every shipment they make. E-File These 2018 Rhode Island State Tax Forms . This rate includes any state, county, city, and local sales taxes. gov/app/taxation/payments, on the official  Jan 23, 2018 That is because Rhode Island's sales and use tax statutes have been However , online retailers seeking to avoid having to collect taxes may  On August 3, 2017, Rhode Island enacted affiliate and economic nexus with an alternative reporting requirement structure for those remote sellers that do not  To see a full breakout of Rhode Island sales tax rates by city, state, county all transactions where sales tax has not been paid, even out-of-state internet sales. Tax Collector's Fax: (401) 722-2427 Tax Collector's Office: Extension: 344. The Rhode Island state sales tax rate is 7%, and the average RI sales tax after local surtaxes is 7%. The RI sales tax calculator has the option to include tax in the gross price as well as the amount to be added to net pri Rhode Island lawmakers are considering legislation to force online retailers to collect sales taxes and remit them to the state. G. Periodically file sales tax for each state where you have sales tax nexus. 44-9-13, shall be conducted beginning May 9th, 2019 until May 31st, 2019 from 9:00am to 3:00 p. Raimondo’s state budget announcement; Amazon will charge sales tax in RI Rhode Island requires businesses to file sales tax returns and submit sales tax payments online. Sales tax is a small percentage of a sale tacked on to that sale by an online retailer. However, if the online retailer is selling an item to a customer outside of its home state, then it is not required to collect sales tax from that customer. Compute the correct sales tax, including discretionary sales surtax (county tax), if any. You must file a sales tax return every filing period, even if no sales are made and no tax has been collected. As your sales tax filing due date approaches, now is the time to figure out how much sales tax you’ve collected from buyers in every state where you have nexus. In fact, because federal law now permits Rhode Island to require companies to collect a sales tax on goods sold on the internet, current state law indicates that the sales tax should be lowered to 6. Rhode Island Sales Tax Calculator calculates the sales tax and final price for any Rhode Island. Payment to cover your registration fee (see Vehicle Registration Fees below). Generally speaking, if an online retailer maintains a physical presence in a state that charges a sales tax on most purchases, then that online retailer must charge sales tax on any items that are sold to customers within the home state. This means that an individual in the state of Rhode Island who sells books would be required to charge sales tax, but an individual who sells hair products would not. (AP) — The Rhode Island General Assembly has passed legislation to collect the sales tax from online retailers. ) Idaho Business Registration (sales/use/withholding permit application) Business self-service portal (Change certain permit account information or cancel your account. Feb 27, 2018 What do you think of Rhode Island's new approach to online sales tax? As you know, the online sales tax debate continues across the country  The fact that you purchased over the internet or by catalog, telephone, or other remote means Important Information Regarding Rhode Island Sales/Use Tax. If you rent out an entire house, an entire cottage, an entire condo, an entire apartment, or other such accommodation, and the rental period is for 30 days or less, collect from your tenants the 7% sales tax and the 1% hotel tax and send all of the tax revenue to the Rhode Island Division of Taxation. Search Foreclosures and Tax Lien Sales Records in Rhode Island}. ri taxation child care provider tax form california gas tax by ABC6 Chief Political Reporter Mark Curtis mcurtis@abc6. An employee, representative, contractor, agent, salesperson, etc. How to Register for a Sales Tax Permit in Rhode Island. ri. The December 2017 total local sales tax rate was also 7. Boston, MA 02298-1027. If you are selling on the Internet to states around the country, you now will need to be aware of which states have enacted laws requiring the collection of sales tax by online sellers. Rhode Island’s sales tax rate is 7%. Virtually all legitimate wholesale companies will ask for a copy of your resale certificate before Find Foreclosures and Tax Lien Sales Resources in Rhode Island. Business application and registration form available at the Division of Taxation Web site, or call 401-574-8938. You can't view information on past filings and payments. Rhode Island considers a seller to have sales tax nexus in the state if you have any of the following in the state: An office or place of business. Widget: FILE AND PAY BY MAIL Online Calculators > Financial Calculators Rhode Island Sales Tax Calculator. The case challenges South Dakota’s application of its sales tax to internet retailers who sell into South Dakota but have no property or employees in the state. North Dakota. State of Rhode Island: Department of Revenue. v. Sales and Excise - Sales / Use Tax Forms. Enter your transactions on the right lines so no additional tax will be due. Sales reported on lines A through E of the Sales and Use Tax Return (Form DR-15 ) may have different tax rates. Please note that in the U. We wrote this guide for online sellers who want to know if they even have to bother with sales tax in Rhode Island, and if so, how best to tackle the sales tax  Welcome to the RI Division of Taxation Combined Online Registration Service You may renew online by using the Retail Sales Permit Renewal System. Every 2019 combined rates mentioned above are the results of Rhode Island state rate (7%). Some nonprofits, however, fail to take advantage of these exemptions because of the complexity of determining in which states an exemption exists and because of the lack of uniformity from state to state. The average property tax payment in Rhode Island is the 10th highest in the country. Rhode Island has a statewide sales tax rate of 7. Rhode Island Consumer's Use Tax Return T-205 Step 8: On line eight, multiply this total by 7% to determine the tax owed. SAME: Sales tax in Rhode Island is destination-based, meaning the rate is determined by the state rate of where the item is shipped to (the buyer’s location). ri sales tax online